U.S. star Rapinoe wins women's Ballon d'Or after indelible 2019

On the back of a year that won't soon be forgotten, American icon Megan Rapinoe captured the 2019 women's Ballon d'Or award on Monday.

The World Cup winner, who arguably made more of a statement off the pitch by speaking out against social injustice, among other issues, beat out English defender Lucy Bronze and compatriot Alex Morgan for the honor.

The triumph concludes a sweep of this year's major individual accolades for the 34-year-old, as Rapinoe was also named FIFA Women's Player of the Year in September. In co-captaining the United States to a fourth world title this summer in France, she won the Golden Ball as the tournament's top player and Golden Boot as its top scorer.

It's been quite a 12-month spell for the Reign FC winger.

"I'm so sad I can't make it tonight," Rapinoe, who was unable to attend Monday's ceremony in Paris, said in a recorded video message. "It's absolutely incredible, congrats to the other nominees. I can't believe I'm the one winning in this field, it's been an incredible year.

"I want to thank my teammates and the U.S. federation."

This is the second time France Football has handed out the award. Norwegian striker Ada Hegerberg claimed the inaugural trophy in 2018.

Hegerberg, who led Lyon to another Women's Champions League title in 2018-19 and became the tournament's all-time top scorer this season, finished fourth in this year's voting.

Rank Player Club Country
1 Megan Rapinoe Reign FC USA
2 Lucy Bronze Lyon England
3 Alex Morgan Orlando Pride USA
4 Ada Hegerberg Lyon Norway
5 Vivianne Miedema Arsenal Netherlands
6 Wendie Renard Lyon France
7 Sam Kerr Chelsea Australia
8 Rose Lavelle Washington Spirit USA
9 Ellen White Manchester City England
10 Dzsenifer Marozsan Lyon Germany
T11 Amandine Henry Lyon France
T11 Sari van Veenendaal Atletico Madrid Netherlands
13 Tobin Heath Portland Thorns USA
T14 Pernille Harder Wolfsburg Denmark
T14 Lieke Martens Barcelona Netherlands
T16 Kosovare Asllani CD Tacon Sweden
T16 Nilla Fischer Linkopings FC Sweden
T16 Marta Orlando Pride Brazil
19 Sofia Jakobsson CD Tacon Sweden
20 Sarah Bouhaddi Lyon France
U.S. star Rapinoe wins women's Ballon d'Or after indelible 2019
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox