Gretzky, Messier among inaugural inductees to Oilers Hall of Fame

Bruce Bennett / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The Edmonton Oilers announced the establishment of a franchise Hall of Fame on Wednesday, and a star-studded group will be inducted into the inaugural 2022 class.

Oilers legends Al Hamilton, Wayne Gretzky, Jari Kurri, Grant Fuhr, Paul Coffey, Mark Messier, Glenn Anderson, Kevin Lowe, Glen Sather, and Rod Phillips will serve as the 10 banner inductees due to their contributions to the franchise.

The 2022 class will feature two more inductees, who the Oilers Hall of Fame Selection Committee will vote for on Sept. 20.

The induction ceremony will take place on Nov. 3 before the Oilers' game against the New Jersey Devils. The team will permanently display their names on a ring at Rogers Place.

A maximum of three nominees will be elected to the Edmonton Oilers Hall of Fame every year, and each new member will require an affirmative vote of at least 75%.

The Hall of Fame may include players, coaches, trainers, staff, executives, or any individual whose role within the organization is viewed as extraordinary.

The 11 members of the selection committee - including Gretzky, media member Jim Matheson, and two-time Olympic gold medalist Shannon Szabados - have each been appointed to a three-year term and can serve for a maximum of 15 years.

Oilers fans can nominate individuals for the committee's consideration beginning in 2023.

Former Oilers players will become eligible after they've retired for five years, while non-players can be nominated at any time.

Gretzky, Messier among inaugural inductees to Oilers Hall of Fame
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox