Skip to content

Oilers tender qualifying offers to Puljujarvi, 3 others

Icon Sportswire / Getty

The Edmonton Oilers tendered qualifying offers to pending restricted free-agent forwards Jesse Puljujarvi, Kailer Yamamoto, Ryan McLeod, and Tyler Benson, the team announced Sunday.

Brendan Perlini, Filip Berglund, and Ostap Safin didn't receive qualifying offers and will become unrestricted free agents.

Puljujarvi, Yamamoto, and Benson each have arbitration rights. If they reject their qualifying offers, they'll remain restricted free agents, and the Oilers will retain their negotiating rights.

Player 2021-22 Cap Hit Qualifying Offer Projected Contract
Jesse Puljujarvi $1.175M $1.41M $4.132 x 4 years
Kailer Yamamoto $1.175M $1.175M $5.248 x 5 years
Ryan McLeod $834.167K $813.75K $1.354M x 2 years
Tyler Benson $750K $787.5K $750K x 1 year

(All figures courtesy of CapFriendly and Evolving-Hockey.)

Puljujarvi's name has recently popped up in trade rumors. Oilers general manager Ken Holland was noncommittal on the 24-year-old's future in Edmonton after the Colorado Avalanche bounced the team from the Western Conference Final.

"The second half of the year, it was a real struggle. ... I think (Puljujarvi) lost his confidence," Holland said. "Then when he lost his confidence, he obviously was in the top six, and then he worked his way down to the bottom six. ... I've gotta sort out Jesse."

Puljujarvi logged 14 goals and 22 assists in 65 games last season, while Yamamoto put up 20 tallies and 21 helpers in 81 outings.

Holland recently said that acquiring a goaltender is his No. 1 priority as the offseason rages on.

The deadline to submit qualifying offers is July 11. Free agency officially kicks off on July 13.

Oilers tender qualifying offers to Puljujarvi, 3 others
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox