Skip to content

Report: NHL establishes tentative realignment plan

Mark Blinch / National Hockey League / Getty

The NHL has mapped out a tentative realignment plan for the 2020-21 campaign as it attempts to ease travel amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 31 teams will be split into four geographical divisions, with one being composed of all seven Canadian clubs, according to TSN's Pierre LeBrun.

NHL commissioner Gary Bettman said Tuesday that travel will be a main issue for the league and an all-Canadian division is a likely scenario.

Here's a breakdown of the current plan, which hasn't been finalized and is still subject to change, LeBrun adds.

Division 1

Calgary Flames
Edmonton Oilers
Montreal Canadiens
Ottawa Senators
Toronto Maple Leafs
Vancouver Canucks
Winnipeg Jets

Division 2

Boston Bruins
Buffalo Sabres
New Jersey Devils
New York Islanders
New York Rangers
Philadelphia Flyers
Pittsburgh Penguins
Washington Capitals

Division 3

Carolina Hurricanes
Chicago Blackhawks
Columbus Blue Jackets
Detroit Red Wings
Florida Panthers
Minnesota Wild
Nashville Predators
Tampa Bay Lightning

Division 4

Anaheim Ducks
Arizona Coyotes
Colorado Avalanche
Dallas Stars
Los Angeles Kings
San Jose Sharks
St. Louis Blues
Vegas Golden Knights

The NHL has targeted a Jan. 13 start date, and both the league and players apparently prefer to play a 56-game schedule.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox