Fedorov, Lidstrom, Pronger, 4 others inducted into Hockey Hall of Fame
Bruce Bennett / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The Hockey Hall of Fame welcomed seven new members at Monday's induction ceremony in Toronto, including five players - Sergei Fedorov, Phil Housley, Nicklas Lidstrom, Chris Pronger, and Angela Ruggiero - and two builders in Bill Hay, and Peter Karmanos Jr.


Fedorov is the only forward in the 2015 Hall of Fame class, finishing his career as the highest-scoring Russian in NHL history with 483 goals and 1,179 points. The center won three Stanley Cups and two Frank J. Selke Trophies, all as a member of the Detroit Red Wings.

After a 21-year career representing eight different teams, Housley's 1,232 points stands as the fourth-most among defensemen in league history, and second among American-born players behind Mike Modano. His 97-point campaign in the 1992-93 season has not been matched by any blue-liner since.

Lifelong Red Wing Lidstrom enters as one of the most decorated players of his era, winning four Stanley Cups in Detroit, and becoming the third defenseman to win seven Norris Trophies, after Doug Harvey and Bobby Orr. He became the first European-born player to win the Conn Smythe Trophy in 2002.

Pronger enters as the only Hart Trophy-winning blueliner in the 2015 class, capturing the NHL MVP, as well as the Norris Trophy, in 2000 with the St. Louis Blues. The punishing defenseman won a Stanley Cup with the Anaheim Ducks in 2007, and a pair of Olympic gold medals for Canada.

The fourth woman inducted into the Hall, Ruggiero medaled with the United States in four consecutive Olympics, including a gold in the first women's hockey tournament in 1998. She scored the game-winner in a shootout to help the Americans win their first world Championship in 2005.


Hay won an NCAA championship at Colorado College in 1957, and later won a Stanley Cup as a player with the Chicago Blackhawks in 1961. The former president of the Calgary Flames spent over 30 years working with the Hall of Fame, including 15 as the Hall's chairman and CEO.

Carolina Hurricanes owner Peter Karmanos captured a Stanley Cup title in 2006. He enters for his long commitment to the growth of youth hockey across the United States.

Fedorov, Lidstrom, Pronger, 4 others inducted into Hockey Hall of Fame
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox