Skip to content

Stars' Nill wins 2nd straight GM of the Year Award

Bruce Bennett / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Dallas Stars architect Jim Nill won the 2024 Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award on Monday for the second consecutive season.

The award is voted on by NHL GMs, a panel of league executives, and print and broadcast media after Round 2 of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Nill beat out Florida Panthers GM Bill Zito and Vancouver Canucks GM Patrik Allvin for the honor. Here are the full voting results:

Rank GM Points 1st-2nd-3rd
1 Jim Nill (DAL) 118 17-8-9
2 Patrik Allvin (VAN) 66 6-10-6
3 Bill Zito (FLA) 64 7-8-5
4 Chris Drury (NYR) 61 6-8-7
5 Don Sweeney (BOS) 21 3-1-3
6 Barry Trotz (NSH) 12 1-2-1
7 Kevin Cheveldayoff (WPG) 9 0-1-6
8 Ken Holland (EDM) 8 1-1-0
9 Don Waddell (CAR*) 7 0-1-4
10 Daniel Briere (PHI) 5 1-0-0
11 Chris MacFarland (COL) 4 0-1-1
12 Kelly McCrimmon (VGK) 3 0-1-0

*No longer with club

Nill is the second repeat winner of the award since its creation in 2009-2010. New York Islanders GM Lou Lamoriello won in 2020 and 2021.

The Stars finished first in the Western Conference during the regular season before being ousted by the Edmonton Oilers in the conference finals.

Nill has largely built the Stars through the draft during his 11 years in Dallas, producing homegrown talent such as Miro Heiskanen, Jason Robertson, Roope Hintz, Jake Oettinger, Thomas Harley, Wyatt Johnston, and Logan Stankoven. He also made a handful of key additions over the past year: Matt Duchene was arguably the league's best free-agent signing, and Chris Tanev was one of the most impactful trade deadline pickups.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox