Lightning's Callahan assessed boarding major for hit on Penguins' Letang
NBCSN
It did not take long for the Eastern Conference finals to get ugly.
Less than five minutes into Game 1, Ryan Callahan of the Tampa Bay Lightning boarded Pittsburgh Penguins defenseman Kris Letang.
Callahan was assessed a major penalty for boarding, but was not ejected.
Per Rule 41, boarding which results in major AND injury = game misconduct. Officials determined no injury to Letang on play.
— Scouting The Refs (@ScoutingTheRefs) May 14, 2016
Letang did skate off the ice and made his way to the locker room for examination, but was able to return later in the opening period.
HEADLINES
- Bedard out until at least early January with upper-body injury
- Sabres fire Kevyn Adams, promote Kekalainen to GM
- Hughes 'extremely open-minded' to staying with Wild long term
- Trade grades: Wild instantly become Cup contenders, Canucks score quantity
- Sharks place Smith, Kurashev on IR after their collision into boards
Advertisement