Skip to content

MLB invites 119 teams to join MiLB in 2021

Icon Sportswire / Getty

Major League Baseball invited 119 teams to join the minor leagues, beginning in 2021.

The Triple-A and Double-A affiliates who received invites are listed below. The High-A and Low-A affiliates can be found here.

American League

Angels Salt Lake Rocket City
Astros Sugar Land Corpus Christi
Athletics Las Vegas Midland
Blue Jays Buffalo New Hampshire
Indians Columbus Akron
Mariners Tacoma Arkansas
Orioles Norfolk Bowie
Rangers Round Rock Frisco
Rays Durham Montgomery
Red Sox Worcester Portland
Royals Omaha Northwest Arkansas
Tigers Toledo Erie
Twins St. Paul Wichita
White Sox Charlotte Birmingham
Yankees Scranton/Wilkes-Barre Somerset

National League

Braves Gwinnett Mississippi
Brewers Nashville Biloxi
Cardinals Memphis Springfield
Cubs Iowa Tennessee
Diamondbacks Reno Amarillo
Dodgers Oklahoma City Tulsa
Giants Sacramento Richmond
Marlins Jacksonville Pensacola
Mets Syracuse Binghamton
Nationals Rochester Harrisburg
Padres El Paso San Antonio
Phillies Lehigh Valley Reading
Pirates Indianapolis Altoona
Reds Louisville Chattanooga
Rockies Albuquerque Hartford

Initially, 120 teams were expected to receive invites, but an issue with a Rockies affiliate in Fresno remains unresolved.

The Frederick Keys will also become the sixth member of the newly-formed MLB Draft League, sources told JJ Cooper of Baseball America.

MiLB reportedly agreed to cut 42 minor-league affiliates last April after MLB commissioner Ron Manfred proposed the idea.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox