Colombia win FIFA Fair Play Award
Sergio Perez / Reuters

Given Juan Camilo Zúñiga's reckless challenge on Neymar, it can be easy to overlook the fact that Colombia finished the World Cup with the best disciplinary record of any side to advance past the group stage.

While Colombia's 91 fouls committed throughout the tournament are only surpassed by the Netherlands, Brazil, and Costa Rica, they received five yellow cards (less than any other quarterfinalist), zero red cards, and didn't commit a single foul that caused a penalty.

The award can only be given to teams that reach the knockout stage.

Colombia win FIFA Fair Play Award
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox