Skip to content

A'ja Wilson wins 2nd straight DPOY, headlines All-Defensive 1st team

David Becker / National Basketball Association / Getty

A'ja Wilson added more hardware to her trophy cabinet, taking home Defensive Player of the Year honors for the second straight season, the league announced Friday.

Wilson topped the WNBA in blocks (2.2 per game) for the third time in the last four seasons. The Las Vegas Aces star also led the league in defensive win shares (3.5) and placed 10th in steals (1.4).

Wilson earned 32 of 60 votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. She's the eighth player in league history to capture the honor at least twice.

Alyssa Thomas of the Connecticut Sun picked up 24 votes to finish second, while Brittney Sykes of the Washington Mystics received three votes.

New York Liberty wing Betnijah Laney was the only other player to receive a vote for Defensive Player of the Year.

Wilson also headlined the WNBA's All-Defensive team selections.

2023 All-Defensive first team

Player Team
A'ja Wilson Las Vegas Aces
Alyssa Thomas Connecticut Sun
Brittney Sykes Washington Mystics
Breanna Stewart New York Liberty
Jordin Canada Los Angeles Sparks

2023 All-Defensive second team

Player Team
Betnijah Laney New York Liberty
Ezi Magbegor Seattle Storm
Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks
Napheesa Collier Minnesota Lynx
Elizabeth Williams Chicago Sky

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox