Pierce, CP3, Trae among 8 competitors in HORSE Challenge
Andrew D. Bernstein / National Basketball Association / Getty

A mix of current All-Stars and hoops legends will saddle up as part of the eight-person field for the NBA HORSE Challenge.

Atlanta Hawks star Trae Young, Chicago Bulls guard Zach LaVine, Utah Jazz veteran Mike Conley, and Oklahoma City Thunder ball-handler Chris Paul are the four current NBA players who will participate, ESPN announced Thursday. They will be joined by Class of 2020 Hall of Famer Tamika Catchings, WNBA All-Star Allie Quigley of the Chicago Sky, and former NBA champions Chauncey Billups and Paul Pierce.

The event will begin Sunday at 7 p.m. ET and will be broadcast on ESPN. To win a matchup, participants have to call the shot they will attempt. If it falls, their opponent has to make the same shot. If they fail, they add a letter in "HORSE." Players are eliminated once they rack up all five letters.

In the opening round, the eight competitors will be split into two groups of four. The first players in each group to win two games will move on to the semifinals, where they will face the winners of the other group.

Group 1 Group 2
Chauncey Billups Zach LaVine
Tamika Catchings Chris Paul
Mike Conley Paul Pierce
Trae Young Allie Quigley

The semifinals and the championship game will then air Thursday, April 16, from 9-11 p.m. ET.

State Farm, the competition's sponsor, will donate over $200,000 to charities focused on coronavirus response efforts on behalf of the eight competitors.

In an effort to even the playing field, no dunks will be allowed. That appears to address one concern Young had regarding the event Wednesday.

ESPN sportscaster Mark Jones will serve as the host for the competition.

Pierce, CP3, Trae among 8 competitors in HORSE Challenge
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox