Liverpool's Salah wins Puskas Award for solo effort vs. Everton
Clive Brunskill / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Liverpool star Mohamed Salah was named the winner of the 2018 Puskas Award during Monday's The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony in London.

Salah beat out a star-studded list of 10 nominees that featured the likes of Gareth Bale, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Lionel Messi for his solo effort in the Merseyside derby against rival Everton.

The Egyptian talisman broke the Premier League's single-season scoring mark last season with 32 tallies for the Reds.

The annual distinction honors the best goal scored for club or country between July 2017 and July 15, 2018, as determined by a online vote. Past winners include James Rodriguez, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Neymar, inaugural champ Ronaldo, and last year's victor Olivier Giroud.

Here's a look at the 10 nominees for this year's award:

Gareth Bale Real Madrid Champions League
Denis Cheryshev Russia World Cup
Lazaraos Christodoupoulos AEK Athens Superleague Greece
Giorgian De Arrascaeta Cruzeiro Campeonato Mineiro
Riley McGree Newcastle Jets A-League
Lionel Messi Argentina World Cup
Benjamin Pavard France World Cup
Ricardo Quaresma Portugal World Cup
Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid Champions League
Mohamed Salah Liverpool Premier League
Liverpool's Salah wins Puskas Award for solo effort vs. Everton
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox