Sony Open: What to know for the week in Honolulu
Sam Greenwood / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The PGA Tour's Hawaii swing continues this week with the Sony Open from Honolulu.

Waialae Country Club is set to host the 144-man field, which it has done since 1965. Webb Simpson, Collin Morikawa, and Daniel Berger headline the group and are among the 30 players who made the short trip from Maui after playing in the Tournament of Champions last week.

When: Jan. 14-17
Where: Waialae Country Club, Honolulu, Hawaii

How to watch

Date Channel Time (ET)
Jan. 14 Golf Channel 7-10:30 p.m.
Jan. 15 Golf Channel 7-10:30 p.m.
Jan. 16 Golf Channel 7-10:30 p.m.
Jan. 17 Golf Channel 6-10 p.m.

Last year's result

Cameron Smith beat Brendan Steele in a playoff last year during a wet and windy Sony Open. It was the Aussie's first PGA Tour victory, and he donated a portion of his earnings to help fight the devastating wildfires that were sweeping across his home country.

However, the tournament didn't end without drama. After bogeying No. 17 to fall into a tie with Smith, Steele blasted his approach shot on No. 18 way left and over the grandstands. But because the grandstands were deemed temporary moveable obstructions, Steele received a generous free drop and a chance to salvage par, which he did.

Ryan Palmer was also in the mix, but while attempting to make birdie on his last hole to get into the playoff, his aggressive club selection from a fairway bunker led to a bogey and a slip into a tie for fourth.

Previous Winners

2020: Cameron Smith (-11) in a playoff over Steele
2019: Matt Kuchar (-22) over Andrew Putnam
2018: Patton Kizzire (-17) in a playoff over James Hahn
2017: Justin Thomas (-27) over Justin Rose
2016: Fabian Gomez (-20) in a playoff over Brandt Snedeker
2015: Jimmy Walker (-23) over Scott Piercy
2014: Jimmy Walker (-17) over Chris Kirk
2013: Russell Henley (-24) over Tim Clark

The field

This week's field ties for the strongest one the tournament has hosted over the past 14 years, with 14 of the world's top 31 players taking on Waialae. Morikawa, Simpson, and Berger - who are the three highest-ranked golfers teeing it up - will play alongside last week's winner Harris English, Sungjae Im, Hideki Matsuyama, and Adam Scott.

Other notables include defending champion Cameron Smith, Joaquin Niemann, Abraham Ancer, Billy Horschel, and Sergio Garcia.

Featured groups (all times ET)

Group: Cameron Smith, Sungjae Im, Carlos Ortiz
Thursday - 12:50 p.m.
Friday - 5:30 p.m.

Group: Harris English, Matt Kuchar, Adam Scott
Thursday - 1:00 p.m.
Friday - 5:40 p.m.

Group: Webb Simpson, Collin Morikawa, Marc Leishman
Thursday - 5:30 p.m.
Friday - 12:50 p.m.

Group: Hideki Matsuyama, Sergio Garcia, Joaquin Niemann
Thursday - 5:40 p.m.
Friday - 1:00 p.m.

A full list of groups and tee times can be found here.

The course

Stan Badz / PGA TOUR / Getty

Waialae Country Club is a 7,044-yard, par-70 course that Seth Raynor designed. It's a stark contrast compared to last week's venue at Kapalua, as the course is short and without much elevation change.

Many of the previous winners have also experienced success at the Mayakoba Golf Classic and RBC Heritage, which feature some of the PGA Tour's shorter courses.

Betting corner

Webb Simpson +1100
Collin Morikawa +1400
Harris English +1500
Sungjae Im +1600
Daniel Berger +1700
Hideki Matsuyama +2100
Abraham Ancer +2200
Joaquin Niemann +2800
Cameron Smith +3000
Kevin Kisner +3200
Ryan Palmer +3200
Sergio Garcia +3200
Adam Scott +3500
Billy Horschel +3500
Lanto Griffin +3500
Russell Henley +3500
Jason Kokrak +4500
Zach Johnson +4500
Brendon Todd +5000
Matt Kuchar +5000

(Odds source: theScore Bet)

Sony Open: What to know for the week in Honolulu
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox