Skip to content

Slavin wins Lady Byng for 2nd time in 4 seasons

Josh Lavallee / National Hockey League / Getty

Carolina Hurricanes defenseman Jaccob Slavin was named the 2024 recipient of the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy on Thursday, edging out Elias Pettersson of the Vancouver Canucks and Auston Matthews of the Toronto Maple Leafs.

The honor recognizes sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of play and is voted upon by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Slavin won convincingly with 81 first-place votes, while Pettersson finished second on the ballot.

Slavin is the only the second defenseman to ever win the Lady Byng multiple times, joining Hall of Famer Red Kelly, who won three of his four during his time as a rearguard.

This season saw Slavin notch 37 points in 81 games while averaging nearly 21 minutes per contest. Despite his heavy usage, the 30-year-old only logged four minor penalties.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox