Skip to content

Kucherov, Matthews, MacKinnon up for Ted Lindsay Award

Claus Andersen / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Nikita Kucherov of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche, and Auston Matthews of the Toronto Maple Leafs were chosen as this year's finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award, given to the league's most outstanding player as voted by the NHLPA.

Kucherov and MacKinnon were named Hart Trophy finalists Tuesday, which is given to the league's most valuable player as voted by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Kucherov, who claimed the Ted Lindsay in 2019, won the Art Ross Trophy this year as the league's top scorer with 144 points. He became only the fifth player in league history to record 100 assists in a single season, which Edmonton Oilers captain Connor McDavid also accomplished in 2023-24.

MacKinnon finished second in the scoring race with 140 points, establishing a new career high. He's never been nominated for the Ted Lindsay but has been a Hart Trophy finalist four times in the past seven years.

Matthews paced the NHL with 69 goals this season - the league's highest total since Mario Lemieux in 1995-96. The Leafs superstar also earned a Selke Trophy nomination for his defensive prowess and is up for the Lady Byng as one of the league's most gentlemanly players.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox