Makar, Avs miffed over non-call on Carter collision
Cale Makar was none too pleased that a dangerous-looking collision with Pittsburgh Penguins forward Jeff Carter went without a penalty in the Colorado Avalanche's overtime loss Tuesday.
"Pretty blindside," the defenseman said, according to The Athletic's Peter Baugh. "The ref said apparently we ran into each other, but I don't know how that's possible. He was coming down the ice."
Avalanche coach Jared Bednar was similarly upset with the non-call.
"(Carter) skated right through his head," Bednar said, via Baugh. "That's what I saw."
Carter's shoulder caught Makar high midway through the third period. The officials ruled the collision incidental contact, and Carter wasn't assessed a penalty on the play. Makar was forced to the locker room but returned prior to the end of regulation.
Pittsburgh's Bryan Rust tied the game with 3:38 remaining in the third period before Kris Letang won it in overtime.
Colorado is 27-18-4 on the campaign and ranks fourth in the Central Division. The Avalanche face the Lightning on Thursday in the first contest between the two teams since Colorado defeated Tampa Bay in the 2022 Stanley Cup Final.
- Bruins edge Hurricanes in shootout to win battle of East's best
- Predators' Duchene week-to-week with apparent hand injury
- McDavid: Oilers' form 'more important' than reaching 70 goals
- Report: Laferriere to sign with Kings on ELC, will join team imminently
- Flames sign 2021 1st-rounder Coronato to entry-level deal