Coleman confused by disallowed goal ruling: 'I didn't feel like I kicked it'

Gerry Thomas / National Hockey League / Getty

Calgary Flames forward Blake Coleman doesn't understand why his go-ahead goal late in Thursday's Game 5 against the Edmonton Oilers was disallowed.

"I don't think I understand the rule," Coleman said postgame, according to Sportsnet's Eric Francis. "Getting pushed, trying to keep my foot on the ice. I haven't watched it enough, but in live speed, I felt like I was in a battle. My understanding is you can direct the puck, but you can't kick it. I didn't feel like I kicked it."

Coleman and Oilers defenseman Cody Ceci jostled for position in front of the net when Coleman lost his balance and pushed the puck in with his skate.

Section 37.4 of the NHL rulebook states: "A 'distinct kicking motion,' for purposes of video review, is one where the video makes clear that an attacking player has deliberately propelled the puck with a kick of his foot or skate and the puck subsequently enters the net."

NHL executive vice president and director of hockey operations Colin Campbell explained the league's rationale.

"It's as difficult a call as we've had the last few years," Campbell said. "We felt there was a distinct kicking motion, and he propelled the puck deliberately in. There's no such thing as 'the blade has to be on the ice.' You can kick a puck without taking your foot off the ice."

Flames head coach Darryl Sutter also disagreed with the goal getting overturned.

"Depends what you call a distinct kicking motion," he said. "If somebody is on the ground and you lift your foot up and kick them in the head, that's a distinct kicking motion. If you slide your foot on the ground, it's not a distinct kicking motion."

The controversial call played a massive role in the series' outcome. If the goal stood, Calgary would've had under six minutes to hold onto a one-goal lead and force a Game 6. Instead, Connor McDavid buried the overtime winner to eliminate the Flames from the postseason.

Comments
Coleman confused by disallowed goal ruling: 'I didn't feel like I kicked it'
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox