Islanders' Lamoriello wins 2nd straight GM of the Year Award

Bruce Bennett / Getty Images Sport / Getty

New York Islanders general manager Lou Lamoriello is the winner of the 2020-21 Jim Gregory GM of the Year Award, the league announced Tuesday.

Lamoriello beat out the Montreal Canadiens' Marc Bergevin and the Florida Panthers' Bill Zito.

A panel that includes all 31 NHL general managers votes on the award, and the voting took place after the second round of the playoffs.

This is the second straight year Lamoriello has been given the award, and he's the first general manager to win it twice, according to's Tom Gulitti.

Bergevin earned one more first-place vote than Lamoriello, but he came in second place. Here are the full results:

The 78-year-old went through a relatively quiet offseason, but he brought in Kyle Palmieri and Travis Zajac to make a big splash prior to the trade deadline. The veterans have been integral to the Islanders' playoff success.

The Islanders finished fourth in the tight East Division this campaign with a 32-17-7 record, despite losing captain Anders Lee for the second half of the season. The team has made it to the semifinals for the second straight year with its well-rounded roster, and New York currently trails the Tampa Bay Lightning 3-2.

Islanders' Lamoriello wins 2nd straight GM of the Year Award
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox