Skip to content

22 NHL players unavailable due to COVID-19 protocol

Jonathan Kozub / National Hockey League / Getty

The NHL announced 22 players on 16 different teams are unavailable Wednesday for the opening night of the 2021 season due to COVID-19 protocols.

All those players can't practice, travel, or play. COVID-19-related absences can be due to a positive test, symptomatic individuals awaiting test results, mandatory quarantine, or isolation due to high-risk contact with another person who tested positive.

Here's the full list of players:

Team Player
Arizona Coyotes Lawson Crouse
Boston Bruins Karson Kuhlman
Colorado Avalanche Erik Johnson
Columbus Blue Jackets Mikko Koivu
Detroit Red Wings Darren Helm
Detroit Red Wings Christian Djoos
Edmonton Oilers Gaetan Haas
Edmonton Oilers James Neal
Florida Panthers Markus Nutivaara
Los Angeles Kings Cal Petersen
Los Angeles Kings Kurtis MacDermid
Los Angeles Kings Sean Walker
Minnesota Wild Alex Stalock
Nashville Predators Mikael Granlund
Nashville Predators Luca Sbisa
New York Rangers Justin Richards
Philadelphia Flyers Shayne Gostisbehere
Pittsburgh Penguins Kasperi Kapanen
San Jose Sharks Max Letunov
Vancouver Canucks Jordie Benn
Vancouver Canucks J.T. Miller
Winnipeg Jets Nikolaj Ehlers

The league will release these lists daily throughout the season. No additional details, including the precise reason or potential absence length, will be provided.

The release also stated the Dallas Stars will announce their positive tests prior to their first game. Their season opener is postponed due to an outbreak that infected 17 players.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox