Islanders' Lamoriello wins GM of the Year Award
Bruce Bennett / Getty Images Sport / Getty

New York Islanders general manager Lou Lamoriello is the recipient of the 2019-20 Jim Gregory GM of the Year Award, the league announced Saturday.

Lamoriello beat out Tampa Bay Lightning's Julien BriseBois and Dallas Stars' Jim Nill.

The award is voted on by a 41-member panel that includes all 31 GMs, five other NHL executives, and five media members. Here are the results:

This marks the first time Lamoriello has won in the award's 11-year history.

Lamoriello's most notable moves from the 2019-20 campaign include the offseason acquisition of goaltender Semyon Varlamov and the pickup of forward Jean-Gabriel Pageau at the trade deadline.

The Islanders finished the regular season as the Eastern Conference's No. 7 seed, but are currently battling against the Lightning in the conference finals.

Islanders' Lamoriello wins GM of the Year Award
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox