Skip to content

Lindblom, Bouwmeester, Ryan among Masterton Trophy nominees

Icon Sportswire / Getty

Philadelphia Flyers forward Oskar Lindblom, St. Louis Blues defenseman Jay Bouwmeester, and Ottawa Senators forward Bobby Ryan are among the 31 finalists for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, the Professional Hockey Writers' Association announced Tuesday.

Lindblom was diagnosed with Ewing's sarcoma - a type of cancer that occurs in bones or soft tissue - in December. The 23-year-old missed the rest of the regular season. The Flyers rallied around him, and their fans gave the winger a standing ovation when he attended a game in January. As of late April, Lindblom was scheduled to undergo his final cancer treatments.

Bouwmeester suffered a cardiac episode during a game between the Blues and Anaheim Ducks, a February contest that was postponed as a result. The 36-year-old rearguard later underwent surgery to implant a defibrillator, which restored his heart's normal rhythm. He also missed the remainder of the regular season.

Ryan took a leave from the Senators to enter the NHL and NHLPA's player assistance program in November. The winger later revealed he had a panic attack and was battling alcohol abuse. Ryan, who turned 33 in March, returned from the program in February and notched four goals in eight games, including a hat trick against the Vancouver Canucks.

The NHL awards the Masterton Trophy to the player "who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey." The PHWA annually votes on the award and narrows down the list to three finalists before the winner is determined.

Here's the complete list of 2019-20 nominees:

Team Player

Anaheim Ducks
Ryan Miller

Arizona Coyotes
Conor Garland

Boston Bruins
Kevan Miller

Buffalo Sabres
Curtis Lazar

Calgary Flames
Mark Giordano

Carolina Hurricanes
James Reimer

Chicago Blackhawks
Corey Crawford

Colorado Avalanche
Ryan Graves

Columbus Blue Jackets
Nathan Gerbe

Dallas Stars
Stephen Johns

Detroit Red Wings
Robby Fabbri

Edmonton Oilers
Connor McDavid

Florida Panthers
Noel Acciari

Los Angeles Kings
Jonathan Quick

Minnesota Wild
Alex Stalock

Montreal Canadiens
Shea Weber

Nashville Predators
Jarred Tinordi

New Jersey Devils
Travis Zajac

New York Islanders
Thomas Hickey

New York Rangers
Henrik Lundqvist

Ottawa Senators
Bobby Ryan

Philadelphia Flyers
Oskar Lindblom

Pittsburgh Penguins
Evgeni Malkin

San Jose Sharks
Joe Thornton

St. Louis Blues
Jay Bouwmeester

Tampa Bay Lightning
Alex Killorn

Toronto Maple Leafs
Zach Hyman

Vancouver Canucks
Jacob Markstrom

Vegas Golden Knights
Shea Theodore

Washington Capitals
Michal Kempny

Winnipeg Jets
Mark Letestu

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox