24-team Stanley Cup Playoffs matchups confirmed
Icon Sportswire / Getty

Find out the latest on COVID-19's impact on the sports world and when sports are returning by subscribing to Breaking News push notifications in the Sports and COVID-19 section.

NHL commissioner Gary Bettman confirmed Tuesday that the NHL will stage a 24-team playoff split by conference between two hub cities, with timelines and locations to be finalized at a later date.

The top four seeds in each conference will get byes, while seeds 5-12 will battle in best-of-five series to determine who advances. The NHL and NHLPA have yet to decide whether teams will be reseeded or if the postseason will use a bracket format.

The matchups are based on points percentage in conference standings through games played until March 12. Teams with byes will all play each other once under regular-season rules to determine their seeding in the next round.

Here's a look at how it breaks down.

Eastern Conference

Byes: (No. 1) Boston Bruins, (No. 2) Tampa Bay Lightning, (No. 3) Washington Capitals, (No. 4) Philadelphia Flyers

Western Conference

Byes: (No. 1) St. Louis Blues, (No. 2) Colorado Avalanche, (No. 3) Vegas Golden Knights, (No. 4) Dallas Stars

24-team Stanley Cup Playoffs matchups confirmed
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox