Babcock, Goyette, Smyth to be inducted into Order of Hockey in Canada
Minas Panagiotakis / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Hockey Canada announced Tuesday its 2018 class of inductees for the Order of Hockey in Canada, and headlining this year's honorees are Toronto Maple Leafs head coach Mike Babcock, three-time Olympic medalist Danielle Goyette, and former NHL All-Star Ryan Smyth.

The honor is awarded annually to individuals for their contribution to the sport of hockey north of the border.

"As players and coaches, this group has led the way on and off the ice, teaching and inspiring Canadian players at all levels of the game," said Hockey Canada CEO Tom Renney.

"To be selected as a distinguished honoree of the Order of Hockey in Canada is one of the most prestigious accomplishments one can receive in hockey in Canada, and this year's honorees are well-deserving of the recognition."

The awards were first handed out in 2012, with past recipients including the likes of Jean Beliveau, Wayne Gretzky, Pat Quinn, and Mario Lemieux.

Babcock, Goyette, Smyth to be inducted into Order of Hockey in Canada
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Congratulations to @ovi8 and his wife Anastasia on the birth...
Ovechkin, wife Anastasia welcome baby boy
The key to Subban's offseason training is balance
Ryan Callahan had first day on ice since June shoulder surge...
Lightning's Callahan skates for 1st time since shoulder surgery in June