Skip to content

Karlsson, Doughty, Burns named Norris Trophy finalists

Bruce Bennett / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Three of the most gifted defensemen in the world are up for this year's Norris Trophy.

Ottawa Senators captain Erik Karlsson, Los Angeles Kings All-Star Drew Doughty, and San Jose Sharks do-it-all blue-liner Brent Burns are the finalists, the league announced Friday.

Karlsson, a two-time winner of the award, is the early favorite, as he finished fourth in league scoring with a career-high 82 points.

Doughty, considered Karlsson's counterpart for the trophy all season long, registered 51 points and a plus-24 rating this season for the Kings while logging 28:01 of ice-time per game.

Burns set a career high in goals (27) and points (75) for the Sharks this season, and earned his third All-Star Game selection.

The winner will be announced at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas on June 22.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox