Manning, Woodson, Johnson headline 2021 HOF modern-era nominees
Ezra Shaw / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced on Wednesday the 130 modern-era candidates for the 2021 class.

Quarterback Peyton Manning, wide receiver Calvin Johnson, and defensive back Charles Woodson - who are in their first year of eligibility - highlight the list.

Manning, a two-time Super Bowl champion, has the most regular-season MVP awards in NFL history with five and holds the single-season record for passing yards (5,477) and touchdowns (55).

The Class of 2021 includes 14 first-year headliners: running back Steven Jackson; wide receivers Wes Welker and Roddy White; tight end Heath Miller; offensive linemen D'Brickashaw Ferguson and Logan Mankins; defensive linemen Jared Allen, Justin Tuck, and Kevin Williams; linebacker Jerod Mayo; and defensive back Charles Tillman.

The group will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and to 15 finalists in January.

The selection committee will meet Feb. 6 to elect the Class of 2021. Along with the modern-era finalists, the committee will be presented with senior finalist Drew Pearson, contributor Bill Nunn, and coach Tom Flores.

Here is the full list of modern-era nominees:

Quarterbacks - Drew Bledsoe, Randall Cunningham, Jake Delhomme, Jeff Garcia, Dave Krieg, Peyton Manning, Donovan McNabb, Steve McNair

Running backs - Shaun Alexander, Mike Alstott, Tiki Barber, Earnest Byner, Larry Centers, Corey Dillon, Warrick Dunn, Eddie George, Priest Holmes, Steven Jackson, Jamal Lewis, Eric Metcalf, Glyn Milburn, Lorenzo Neal, Fred Taylor, Herschel Walker, Ricky Watters

Wide receivers - Donald Driver, Henry Ellard, Torry Holt, Calvin Johnson, Chad Johnson, Derrick Mason, Muhsin Muhammad, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith, Hines Ward, Reggie Wayne, Wes Welker, Roddy White

Tight ends - Dallas Clark, Ben Coates, Keith Jackson, Brent Jones, Heath Miller, Jeremy Shockey, Wesley Walls

Offensive linemen: Willie Anderson, Matt Birk, Tony Boselli, Lomas Brown, Ruben Brown, Alan Faneca, DBrickashaw Ferguson, Kevin Glover, Jordan Gross, Kent Hull, Olin Kreutz, Logan Mankins, Tom Nalen, Chris Samuels, Jeff Saturday, Chris Snee, Brian Waters, Richmond Webb, Erik Williams, Steve Wisniewski

Defensive linemen - John Abraham, Jared Allen, Ray Childress, La'Roi Glover, Casey Hampton, Leslie O'Neal, Michael Dean Perry, Simeon Rice, Richard Seymour, Justin Smith, Neil Smith, Greg Townsend, Justin Tuck, Kevin Williams, Bryant Young

Linebackers - Cornelius Bennett, Lance Briggs, Tedy Bruschi, London Fletcher, Seth Joyner, Clay Matthews Jr., Jerod Mayo, Willie McGinest, Sam Mills, Joey Porter, Chris Spielman, Takeo Spikes, Pat Swilling, Darryl Talley, Zach Thomas, Patrick Willis

Defensive backs - Eric Allen, Ronde Barber, LeRoy Butler, Nick Collins, Merton Hanks, Rodney Harrison, James Hasty, Albert Lewis, John Lynch, Tim McDonald, Allen Rossum, Asante Samuel, Bob Sanders, Charles Tillman, Troy Vincent, Adrian Wilson, Charles Woodson, Darren Woodson

Punters/Kickers - K David Akers, K Gary Anderson, K Jason Elam, P Jeff Feagles, K Jason Hanson, K John Kasay, P Sean Landeta, K Ryan Longwell, K Nick Lowery, P Rohn Stark, P Matt Turk

Special teams - Josh Cribbs, Mel Gray, Brian Mitchell, Steve Tasker

Manning, Woodson, Johnson headline 2021 HOF modern-era nominees
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox