NFL 2019 schedule release: Browns get 4 prime-time slots
Jason Miller / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The NFL released its 2019 schedule on Wednesday and the 17-week slate features a number of juicy matchups.

The Chicago Bears and Green Bay Packers kick things off Thursday, Sept. 5 and the New England Patriots open their title defense against the Pittsburgh Steelers on Sunday Night Football in Week 1.

The new-look Cleveland Browns are now prime-time fixtures; they're scheduled for four national broadcasts, their most since 2008. The Bears, Packers, Patriots, Steelers, Dallas Cowboys, Kansas City Chiefs, Los Angeles Rams, Minnesota Vikings, and Philadelphia Eagles all received a league-high five prime-time games.

The Buffalo Bills are the only team without a primetime date, but they will be featured in Week 13 when they visit the Cowboys on Thanksgiving.

That holiday tripleheader begins with the Bears at the Detroit Lions and concludes with a rematch between the New Orleans Saints and Atlanta Falcons.

New England has been determined to have the easiest strength of schedule, not facing a 2018 playoff team until Week 9. The Oakland Raiders, meanwhile, own the toughest schedule; they face the Chiefs, the Vikings, the Colts, the Bears (in London), the Packers, and the Texans from Week 2 to Week 8 with a bye in Week 6.

NFL 2019 schedule release: Browns get 4 prime-time slots
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox