Matthews wins Ted Lindsay Award

Mark LoMoglio / National Hockey League / Getty

Toronto Maple Leafs sniper Auston Matthews won the 2022 Ted Lindsay Award, given to the most outstanding player in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association.

Nashville Predators defenseman Roman Josi and Edmonton Oilers star Connor McDavid were the other two finalists.

Matthews led the league with 60 goals despite skating in just 73 out of a possible 82 games.

The 24-year-old is the first Maple Leafs player to win the award. The trophy was first handed out in 1971 and was known as the Lester B. Pearson Award until it was renamed for Detroit Red Wings legend Ted Lindsay in 2010.

Matthews wins Ted Lindsay Award
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox