Doughty delivered what the NHL called an "illegal check to the head" of Carrier midway through the third period of Game 1 on Wednesday night. The league described it as a "high, forceful hit that makes Carrier's head the principal point of contact on a hit where such head contact was avoidable."
Here's a look at it:
The NHL added that while Doughty's first point of contact was Carrier's arm, Rule 48.1 (governing head shots) doesn't take into account what the first point of contact is, but rather the main point of contact. The league determined that the head took "the brunt of the impact."
Vegas head coach Gerard Gallant said Thursday that Carrier is day to day with an injury he would only label as an upper-body ailment, according to David Schoen of the Las Vegas Review-Journal.