Judge puts on monster show to take home 2017 HR Derby crown
Jasen Vinlove / USA TODAY Sports

Aaron Judge's raw power was put on full display Monday in Miami as the New York Yankees outfielder outslugged Minnesota Twins third baseman Miguel Sano 11-10 in the final to win the 2017 Home Run Derby.

After eliminating Los Angeles Dodgers rookie Cody Bellinger 13-12 in the semifinal - including back-to-back home runs at over 500 feet - Judge powered through the final round with ease, surpassing Sano's count of 10 with two minutes still remaining on the clock.

Sano eliminated Judge's fellow New York Yankees teammate, Gary Sanchez, to earn his berth in the final round.

Defending champion Giancarlo Stanton fell victim to perhaps the biggest upset of the bracket, losing in the first round to Sanchez by one homer.


Round Player Player
Quarterfinal Giancarlo Stanton (16) Gary Sanchez (17)
Quarterfinal Mike Moustakas (10) Miguel Sano (11)
Quarterfinal Cody Bellinger (15) Charlie Blackmon (14)
Quarterfinal Aaron Judge (23) Justin Bour (22)
Semi final Gary Sanchez (10) Miguel Sano (11)
Semi final Aaron Judge (13) Cody Bellinger (12)
Final Aaron Judge (11) Miguel Sano (10)

In total, Judge hit 47 longballs - 14 short of Stanton's record set in 2016 - though the Yankees phenom also mashed them a total combined distance of 3.9 miles, according to Statcast.

Judge puts on monster show to take home 2017 HR Derby crown
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox