Skip to content

Daniels, Penix among finalists for Heisman Trophy

Kevin C. Cox / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Washington quarterback Michael Penix Jr., LSU passer Jayden Daniels, Oregon signal-caller Bo Nix, and Ohio State wide receiver Marvin Harrison Jr. were named finalists for the Heisman Trophy on Monday.

The Heisman Trophy Trust will announce the winner on Saturday in New York.

Here's information on the four finalists:

Jayden Daniels

Key stats: 72.2% completion, 3,812 passing yards, 40 TDs

Jayden Daniels' production ascended to a dazzling level in 2023. The senior passer helped rank LSU at the of top the country in yards (547.8) and points per game (46.4). Individually, he led the nation with a 208.01 passer rating. Daniels also led the Tigers with 1,134 rushing yards, the second-highest mark in the SEC this season. The California native, who transferred to LSU ahead of the 2022 season, is the favorite to win the award.

Michael Penix Jr.

Key stats: 65.9% completion, 4,218 passing yards, 33 TDs

Washington punched its ticket to a playoff spot primarily because of Penix's play this season: The 23-year-old led the country in passing yards per game (324.5). After an electric start to the campaign in which he racked up 20 total scores through the first six games, Penix cooled down and collected 16 total touchdowns in the final seven games. The Huskies' prolific passer is aiming to be the first player in school history to win the award.

Bo Nix

Key stats: 77.2% completion, 4,145 passing yards, 40 TDs

Nix is contending to be the second Heisman winner in Oregon's history after Marcus Mariota accomplished the feat in 2014. Nix exceeded most of his 2022 stats, finishing the year with 46 total touchdowns as well as the highest completion rate (77.2%) in the country. His efficiency was on full display in his final year of eligibility, but the super senior came up short in the Pac-12 Championship Game: He posted season-lows in passing yards (239) and QB rating (144.05).

Marvin Harrison Jr.

Key stats: 67 receptions, 1,211 receiving yards, 14 TDs

The Ohio State wideout is the lone non-quarterback finalist this year. Harrison is among the top positional talents and led the Big Ten with 1,211 yards and 14 scores this season. The Buckeyes fell short of qualifying for the College Football Playoff, but the dynamic receiver still posted eight 100-yard games. The junior seeks to become the first Buckeye to win the award since Troy Smith in 2006 and the first non-QB since DeVonta Smith in 2020.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox