Skip to content

Winners from the 2022 College Football Awards

Harry How / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The Heisman Trophy will be awarded Saturday night, but there was plenty of other hardware to hand out in the meantime. Here are the winners from the 2022 Home Depot College Football Awards show:

Bednarik Award (Best defensive player)

Will Anderson, LB, Alabama

Anderson made everything look easier on defense for the Crimson Tide this season, constantly wreaking havoc on opponents' offenses. The star defender, who was also a finalist for this award last year, finished 2022 with 10 sacks - the eighth most in the nation - to go along with one interception and a defensive touchdown. He also generated 59 pressures, ranking fourth in the country, according to PFF.

Other finalists: Tuli Tuipulotu (DL, USC), Ivan Pace Jr. (LB, Cincinnati)

Davey O'Brien Award (Best quarterback)

Max Duggan, TCU

Few expected Duggan, who began the year as TCU's No. 2 signal-caller, to win this award heading into the season. But the Horned Frogs star put on a show in 2022, passing for 3,321 yards and 30 touchdowns against just four interceptions while leading TCU to a perfect regular season. He's the school's first player to win the Davey O'Brien Award, which was named after the former TCU star.

Other finalists: C.J. Stroud (Ohio State), Caleb Williams (USC)

Doak Walker Award (Best running back)

Bijan Robinson, Texas

Robinson set career highs with 1,580 yards and 18 touchdowns rushing, ranking fifth and fourth in the nation, respectively. While Michigan's Blake Corum put up very similar rushing stats, the Texas star had a bigger impact as a pass-catcher, finishing the campaign with 314 yards and two touchdowns on 19 receptions. Robinson eclipsed 100 rushing yards in all but three games this year and topped the 200-yard mark in two of his four appearances in November.

Other finalists: Chase Brown (Illinois), Corum

Outland Trophy (Best interior lineman)

Olusegun Oluwatimi, C, Michigan

Oluwatimi was the best player on one of the nation's top offensive lines. The 6-foot-3, 307-pounder, who also won the Rimington Trophy as the best center in the country, is the first player from Michigan to claim the Outland Trophy. The 13-0 Wolverines averaged 5.6 yards per rushing attempt this season, and Oluwatimi was a major reason why.

Other finalists: Peter Skoronski (OT, Northwestern), Calijah Kancey (DT, Pittsburgh)

Biletnikoff Award (Best receiver)

Jalin Hyatt, Tennessee

Hyatt ranked fourth in the country in receiving yards and first in touchdowns. Not only was he the most prolific weapon for one of college football's premier passing attacks, but he also came up clutch when Tennessee needed it the most, recording 207 yards and five touchdowns against Alabama.

Other finalists: Marvin Harrison Jr. (Ohio State), Xavier Hutchinson (Iowa State)

Ray Guy Award (Best punter)

Adam Korsak, Rutgers

Korsak added more hardware to his decorated college career Thursday. In 2022, he led his position in punts downed inside the 20-yard line (33) and ranked third with 75 total punts. Korsak also led the Big Ten with 35 fair catches.

Other finalists: Mason Fletcher (Cincinnati), Bryce Baringer (Michigan State)

Thorpe Award (Best defensive back)

Tre'Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU

Hodges-Tomlinson was a cornerstone of TCU's defense, racking up 42 tackles, 11 pass breakups, and three interceptions through 13 appearances this season. He allowed only a 38.9 passer rating while in coverage, the best mark among corners in the Big 12.

Other finalists: Clark Phillips III (Utah), Devon Witherspoon (Illinois)

Groza Award (Best kicker)

Christopher Dunn, NC State

Dunn ranked second in the nation with a 96% field-goal conversion rate (24 of 25 attempts), including two FGs of 50-plus yards. He also went 30-for-30 on extra points.

Other finalists: Joshua Karty (Stanford), Jake Moody (Michigan)

Coach of the Year

Sonny Dykes, TCU

No surprises here. The Horned Frogs hired Dykes after going 5-7 last year. In his first year at TCU, he helped the team go undefeated during the regular season en route to reaching the College Football Playoff for the first time.

Maxwell Award (Best player)

Caleb Williams, QB, USC

Williams ranked fourth in passing yards and first in touchdowns this season while adding 372 yards and 10 scores on the ground. With him under center, the Trojans boasted one of the country's most prolific offenses and posted an 11-2 record. Though USC missed the College Football Playoff after losing to Utah in the Pac-12 title game, that was mostly due to the team's defensive struggles. Williams couldn't have done a better job.

Other finalists: C.J. Stroud (QB, Ohio State), Hendon Hooker (QB, Tennessee)

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox