Pac-12 wants automatic playoff berths for Power 5 champs

Alika Jenner / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Pac-12 commissioner Larry Scott has his own idea on who should make the College Football Playoff's proposed 12-team format.

"The Pac-12 supports (the) expansion of the CFP and believes that the Autonomy Five champions should annually qualify for the CFP," Scott said in a statement.

The current proposed 12-team model involves the six highest-ranked conference champions and the next six at-large teams determined by the CFP committee.

Oregon (2014) and Washington (2016) are the only Pac-12 teams that have qualified for the CFP since it debuted in 2014.

The 10 FBS commissioners met Thursday and Friday to discuss the possibility of implementing an expanded playoff field. Each conference representative will seek feedback from coaches and student-athletes before proceeding.

Afterward, the board of managers will review the expansion model June 22.

There remains no timeline for implementing an expanded playoff.

Pac-12 wants automatic playoff berths for Power 5 champs
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox