Kerr: Refs admit error with Draymond's ejection vs. Knicks
Noah Graham / National Basketball Association / Getty

The Golden State Warriors were forced to play the second half of Thursday's game against the New York Knicks without star forward Draymond Green, but it appears he should never have been ejected in the first place.

Warriors head coach Steve Kerr said referee crew chief Ben Taylor admitted at halftime that officials were wrong to eject Green during the first half after assessing him with his second technical foul of the game.

Green was called for a technical with 1:04 left in the second quarter after turning the ball over on a pass intended for Warriors rookie James Wiseman. Green appeared to yell at Wiseman, though second-year official John Butler thought Green was chastising him.

Kerr said afterward he spoke to Taylor and the crew chief conceded Butler misinterpreted Green's conduct.

"Ben Taylor came out and told me that it was a mistake. That John Butler didn't realize (Green) was yelling at his teammate, he thought he was yelling at him," Kerr said, courtesy of NBC Sports Bay Area.

Green, who picked up his first technical foul for arguing with officials in the first quarter, also spoke about his ejection postgame.

"I'm just a little bit confused," the 30-year-old told The Undefeated's Marc J. Spears. "Officials can meet and make a decision on any call throughout the game, but when it comes to a technical that was clearly the wrong call due to the official assuming I was talking to him when, in fact, I wasn't, that can't be overturned?"

Green, a three-time All-Star, has been a veteran influence for Wiseman, intensely addressing the rookie in-game on numerous occasions this season. A similar incident occurred during Wednesday's meeting with the San Antonio Spurs.

"Maybe it's time to take a look at that rule," Green added. "I would love clarity on why that's a rule if, in fact, it is a rule."

Asked after the contest if his crew considered rescinding Green's second technical foul following protestations from Kerr and other members of the Warriors staff, Taylor replied: "No, we did not," according to Monte Pool of NBC Sports.

Kerr: Refs admit error with Draymond's ejection vs. Knicks
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox