Arsenal's Giroud captures Puskas Award
Shaun Botterill / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Arsenal striker Olivier Giroud was named the recipient of the 2017 Puskas Award during Monday's The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony in London, England.

Giroud received the annual distinction honouring the best goal of the year for his stunning match-winning scorpion-kick finish against Crystal Palace during the 2016-17 Premier League campaign.

Giroud is the ninth winner of the award, and the second Premier League player to take the accolade after Cristiano Ronaldo won the inaugural distinction in 2009 whilst with Manchester United.

The France international beat out teenage Venezuelan international star Deyna Castellanos - also one of three nominees for Women's Player of Year - and Baroka shot-stopper Oscarine Masuluke for the annual award determined by an online vote.

The Arsenal forward faced stiff competition from Castellanos, 18, whose audacious goal from the halfway line against Cameroon in the Under-17 Women's World Cup came moments after the opponent bagged a stoppage-time equaliser.

Masaluke's effort in a South African Premier League clash was similarly steeped in context, as the 'keeper's unconventional goal levelled matters in the final minute against domestic giant Orlando Pirates - with bonus points for the celebration.

Arsenal's Giroud captures Puskas Award
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox