Skip to content

Brewers clinch 3rd NL Central title in 6 years

John Fisher / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The Milwaukee Brewers are kings of the NL Central.

For the second time in three years and third in six seasons, the Brewers have secured the division title after the Chicago Cubs lost to the Atlanta Braves on Tuesday thanks in part to a costly error by outfielder Seiya Suzuki.

The Cubs lost the game 7-6 after blowing a six-run lead.

"You could just sense something was going on in the stands a little bit," Brewers manager Craig Counsell said after home fans roared when the Cubs-Braves game was shown on the scoreboard, according to Tom Kertscher of The Associated Press. "Then I turned behind me and looked down the tunnel and some of the clubhouse guys were scurrying around way too fast for us losing 4-1 (to the St. Louis Cardinals). So I knew something was going on then."

Milwaukee will host the final wild-card team in a best-of-three series at American Family Field beginning Oct. 3. Its opponent is likely to be one of the Cubs, Miami Marlins, or Cincinnati Reds.

The Brewers celebrated the division title with champagne in their dugout:

Milwaukee last made the postseason in 2021, falling in the NLDS to the eventual World Series champion Atlanta Braves in four games.

Since 2018, the Brewers have won the most NL Central titles.

Year NL Central winner 🏆
2023 Brewers
2022 Cardinals
2021 Brewers
2020 Cubs
2019 Cardinals
2018 Brewers

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox