Rays' Snell edges out Verlander to win AL Cy Young
Jason Miller / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Tampa Bay Rays left-hander Blake Snell was announced as the 2018 winner of the American League Cy Young Award on Wednesday, beating out finalists Justin Verlander and Corey Kluber.

PITCHER 1st 2nd 3rd POINTS
Blake Snell 17 11 21 69
Justin Verlander 13 13 3 154
Corey Kluber 4 12 71

This is the third time Verlander has finished second in Cy Young voting during his 14-year career.

The 25-year-old Snell becomes the youngest pitcher to claim the award since Clayton Kershaw in 2011 after leading the rotation of a Rays club that finished 2018 with a 90-72 record.

"Man, this is crazy, hard to put into words!" Snell posted on Instagram after learning he'd won. "But, just wanted to say thank you to all the people who supported me, the love is felt! This is just the beginning and I'm so thankful for you all!"

Snell's 180 2/3 innings pitched were also the fewest from a Cy-Young-winning starter over a full season, according to the BBWAA.

Snell completed the regular season with a 21-5 record and was tops in the AL with a 1.89 ERA.

Rays' Snell edges out Verlander to win AL Cy Young
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox