Astros' Reddick tweets picture of apparent blown call in Boston
In the aftermath of a potential postseason showdown between the Red Sox and Astros, which Boston won 6-5, outfielder Josh Reddick took to Twitter to seemingly question a call from the seventh inning.
With the game tied 5-5, second baseman Jose Altuve was ruled out at the plate following a grounder from Yuli Gurriel.
The Astros challenged the call but it stood after a review of three minutes and 50 seconds.
Astros manager A.J. Hinch didn't appear to be pleased with the review process after the contest.
"He did get in there. It's clear as day," Hinch said, per Fox 26's Mark Berman. "Replay is set up for precisely that type of play. We feel like we had clear evidence there's a gap between the tag, his hand's on the plate, but continually it gets harder and harder and harder to get a call overturned if they can say simply that it stands.
"We got to have a system that we can rely on, that we trust."
Red Sox first baseman Mitch Moreland wound up winning the game for Boston with a walk-off single in the ninth.
- Sale dejected amid latest IL stint: 'I hate feeling like this'
- Brewers' Burnes tossed after spiking ball, arguing with umpire
- Padres thrust into new world of TV; have new rules goosed attendance?
- Mariners' Gonzales getting tests on forearm, will miss start vs. Rangers
- Rays acquire Robert Stephenson from Pirates