LAFC's Vela beats Zlatan, Martinez to 2019 MVP award
Icon Sportswire / Getty

Los Angeles FC record-setter Carlos Vela was named 2019 MLS MVP on Monday, beating out Los Angeles Galaxy star Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Atlanta United striker Josef Martinez.

Vela won the award by a landslide, receiving 69.6% of the three-way vote. Ibrahimovic was second with 14.1% and Martinez third with 7%. New York City pair Maxi Moralez and Heber also received votes.

In his second campaign with LAFC, Vela broke 2018 MLS MVP Martinez's standard for goals in a season with 34, guiding the team to the Supporters' Shield and a regular-season record of 72 points.

The 72-time capped Mexican international became the quickest to 20 goals in a season (21 matches) and finished the term on a nine-game scoring streak that included a hat-trick on the final matchday against the Colorado Rapids.

Vela's combined goals and assists haul of 49 this season is also an MLS record.

The 30-year-old becomes the first Mexican to win the honor. Former Chicago Fire and El Tri standout Cuauhtemoc Blanco finished third in MVP voting in 2007 and 2008.

LAFC's Vela beats Zlatan, Martinez to 2019 MVP award
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox