Laura Siegemund has taken issue with the chair umpire for giving her a time violation during her 6-3, 6-3 loss to Petra Kvitova in the French Open quarterfinals.
The violation of the 25-second clock came while Siegemund was serving at 2-2 second set.
Siegemund froze with her arm raised and the ball still in her hand when umpire Marijana Veljovic announced the call.
Siegemund says “it’s clear that I started the movement already.”
But the umpire ruled that the clock ran out before she started her motion.
Siegmund acknowledges that she takes more time between points than most players. She adds that Veljovic “is very sharp every time I have her on the chair. She gives me a violation the first opportunity she gets.”