Zozo Championship: What to know for Tour's return to Sherwood

Chung Sung-Jun / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The PGA Tour heads to Sherwood Country Club this week for the relocated Zozo Championship.

The inaugural edition was played in Japan last year - which Tiger Woods won for his 82nd Tour title - but the tournament was forced to remain stateside due to complications stemming from the COVID-19 pandemic.

When: Oct. 22-25
Where: Sherwood Country Club, Thousand Oaks, California

How to watch

Date Channel Time (ET)
Thurs. Oct. 22 Golf Channel 5-8 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 23 Golf Channel 5-8 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 24 Golf Channel 5-8 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 25 Golf Channel 5-8 p.m.

The field

The list of competitors at Sherwood is loaded with top-tier talent identical to last week in Las Vegas. Woods, Justin Thomas, Jon Rahm, and Rory McIlroy headline the hopefuls. Sixteen of the top 20 players in the world make up the 78-man field for another limited-field, no-cut event.

Other notables in the mix for the $1.44-million first-place prize are Collin Morikawa, last week's runner-up Xander Schauffele, Webb Simpson, Patrick Reed, and Matthew Wolff.

Featured groups (all times ET)

Group: Hideki Matsuyama, Jon Rahm, Justin Rose
Thursday - 1:34 p.m.
Friday - 2:40 p.m.

Group: Tiger Woods, Matthew Wolff, Xander Schauffele
Thursday - 1:45 p.m.
Friday - 2:51 p.m.

Group: Justin Thomas, Collin Morikawa, Patrick Reed
Thursday - 2:40 p.m.
Friday - 1:23 p.m.

Group: Rory McIlroy, Phil Mickelson, Webb Simpson
Thursday - 2:51 p.m.
Friday - 1:34 p.m.

The full list of groups and tee times can be found here.

The course

Ryan Young / PGA TOUR / Getty

The Jack Nicklaus-designed Sherwood Country Club was the home of Tiger's event, the Hero World Challenge, from 2000 to 2013. The course is a very short par 72, tipping at 7,073 yards with five par 5s.

But the winning number posted in the venue's 14 previous tournaments only cracked 20-under on three occasions, even with the assortment of scorable holes. The history of winners suggests distance isn't necessary to find success at Sherwood; rather, precise iron play is the apparent key to victory.

Previous winners at Sherwood

2013: Zach Johnson (-13) over Tiger Woods
2012: Graeme McDowell (-17) over Keegan Bradley
2011: Tiger Woods (-10) over Zach Johnson
2010: Graeme McDowell (-16) over Tiger Woods
2009: Jim Furyk (-13) over Graeme McDowell
2008: Vijay Singh (-11) over Steve Stricker
2007: Tiger Woods (-22) over Zach Johnson

Betting corner

Jon Rahm +1000
Justin Thomas +1200
Rory McIlroy +1400
Xander Schauffele +1400
Webb Simpson +1600
Collin Morikawa +2000
Patrick Reed +2500
Tyrrell Hatton +2500
Hideki Matsuyama +2800
Daniel Berger +3000
Tony Finau +3000
Bubba Watson +3500
Matt Fitzpatrick +3500
Patrick Cantlay +3500
Scottie Scheffler +3500
Harris English +4000
Jason Kokrak +4000
Matthew Wolff +4000
Tiger Woods +4000
Viktor Hovland +4000
Tommy Fleetwood +4500

(Odds source: theScore Bet)

Zozo Championship: What to know for Tour's return to Sherwood
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox