11 days until golf: Byron Nelson's untouchable winning streak
Bettmann / Getty

The PGA Tour plans to restart its season June 11 after halting due to the coronavirus pandemic. Each day until then, we'll highlight key moments, people, or facts relating to where we are in the countdown.

The great Byron Nelson holds one record that Tiger Woods will never touch. Frankly, it's an achievement that likely no PGA Tour star will ever come close to.

Nelson's 11 consecutive PGA Tour wins in 1945 remains the longest winning streak ever. Tiger's seven straight victories during 2006 and 2007 are a distant second.

Overall, Nelson won 18 times in 1945, beating legends such as Ben Hogan and Sam Snead along the way. He kicked off his streak in a team event - the Miami International Four-Ball - and ended it four months later at the Canadian Open.

Nelson won 52 times during a remarkable career on the PGA Tour, including five majors championships - two Masters, one U.S. Open, and two PGA Championships.

It's worth noting that while Tiger's longest streak was still four short of Nelson's record, he also had runs of five and six straight wins, giving Woods three of the five longest winning streaks in PGA Tour history.

11 days until golf: Byron Nelson's untouchable winning streak
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox