Guide to the 2019 FedEx Cup Playoffs
Stan Badz / PGA TOUR / Getty


The Northern Trust
When: Aug. 8-11
Where: Liberty National Golf Club, Jersey City, N.J.
Field: Top 125 on the points list
Winner: Patrick Reed

BMW Championship
Aug. 15-18
Where: Medinah Country Club, Medinah, Ill.
Field: Top 70 on the points list
Defending champion: Keegan Bradley

Tour Championship
Aug. 22-25
Where: East Lake Golf Club, Atlanta, Ga.
Field: Top 30 on the points list
Defending champion: Tiger Woods

Updated odds to win FedEx Cup

Brooks Koepka: 2-1
Rory McIlroy: 6-1
Patrick Reed: 8-1
Jon Rahm: 10-1
Dustin Johnson: 12-1
Patrick Cantlay: 14-1
Matt Kuchar: 16-1
Justin Rose: 16-1
Xander Schauffele: 20-1
Justin Thomas: 20-1
Rickie Fowler: 25-1
Tiger Woods: 100-1

FedEx Cup payouts

1st: $15 million
2nd: $5 million
3rd: $4 million
4th: $3 million
5th: $2.5 million
6th: $1.9 million
7th: $1.3 million
8th: $1.1 million
9th: $950,000
10th: $830,000

(Odds courtesy:

Icon Sportswire / Icon Sportswire / Getty

What's new

The playoff format underwent two drastic changes for the 2018-19 season.

First, the postseason was reduced from four events to three. Now, only the top 70 players on the FedEx Cup points list will advance to the second tournament, compared to 100 from previous seasons.

Second, a new staggered-scoring system will give the Tour Championship a completely different feel. Whoever is first on the points list heading into East Lake will start the Tour Championship at 10-under, two shots ahead of second place and 10 shots ahead of Nos. 26-30. The new format ensures the winner at East Lake also hoists the FedEx Cup.

Here's how the Tour Championship leaderboard will look before the start of the tournament:

FedEx Cup Seed Tour Championship Starting Score
1 -10
2 -8
3 -7
4 -6
5 -5
6-10 -4
11-15 -3
16-20 -2
21-25 -1
26-30 E

A full breakdown of points and scoring can be found here.

Previous FedEx Cup winners

2018: Justin Rose
2017: Justin Thomas
2016: Rory McIlroy
2015: Jordan Spieth
2014: Billy Horschel
2013: Henrik Stenson
2012: Brandt Snedeker
2011: Bill Haas
2010: Jim Furyk
2009: Tiger Woods

Guide to the 2019 FedEx Cup Playoffs
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox