USGA disallows DeChambeau's use of drawing compass
Bryson Dechambeau will no longer be allowed to use a drawing compass in his greens book, as the United States Golf Association determined the device's use is a violation of the rules.
"The USGA has ruled that the use of a protractor (also known as a drawing compass) during a stipulated round is a violation of Rule 14-3a of the Rules of Golf," the USGA announced to players, according to Rex Hoggard of the Golf Channel. "It is considered 'unusual equipment that might assist him in making a stroke or in his play.'"
DeChambeau created headlines when he was spotted using a drawing compass at the Memorial a few weeks ago.
At the time, the USGA permitted the tool's use.
The 24-year-old said the compass helps him more accurately determine pin locations.
This is DeChambeau's second run-in with the rule book. In 2017, the USGA ruled that the sidesaddle-style putter he was using was non-conforming.

(Photo courtesy: Getty Images)
Don't expect DeChambeau to stop pushing the envelope anytime soon.
HEADLINES
- Koepka leaving LIV Golf to be closer to home
- Pereira retires at 30 just 3 years after nearly winning PGA Championship
- Gerard's payoff for flying across 2 oceans, 2 seas is Masters invitation
- Kuchar lost his father in February, ends year with PNC win alongside son
- Masters fields reaches 86 players with 13 from world ranking