Connor, Slavin, Spurgeon named Lady Byng finalists

Icon Sportswire / Getty

Winnipeg Jets forward Kyle Connor, Carolina Hurricanes defenseman Jaccob Slavin, and Minnesota Wild blue-liner Jared Spurgeon were named finalists for the 2022 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy.

The award is given annually to the "player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability." It's voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Connor had a career offensive season with 47 goals and 93 points. He finished fourth among all forwards in average ice time (21:47) and only logged four penalty minutes in 79 games.

Slavin won the award last year, becoming the first defenseman since 2012 to do so. The Hurricanes' top-pair stalwart set a personal benchmark with 42 points this season and only took five minor penalties despite routinely facing top competition. Red Kelly (1952-53, 1953-54) is the only rearguard in NHL history to win consecutive Lady Byng trophies.

Spurgeon was the runner-up for the award last season. Minnesota's captain had 10 or fewer penalty minutes for the seventh time in his 12-year career in 2021-22. Spurgeon also racked up 40 points in 65 games while logging 21:09 per contest.

NHL award winners will be announced during the conference finals and Stanley Cup Final.

Connor, Slavin, Spurgeon named Lady Byng finalists
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox