McDavid, Matthews, Josi voted Ted Lindsay Award finalists

Andrew Lahodynskyj / National Hockey League / Getty

Edmonton Oilers phenom Connor McDavid, Toronto Maple Leafs center Auston Matthews, and Nashville Predators defenseman Roman Josi were announced as the 2021-22 Ted Lindsay Award finalists Friday.

McDavid became the seventh three-time Ted Lindsay winner after taking home the honor in 2021. A fourth victory would put him in the same company as Mario Lemieux (1986, 1988, 1993, 1996) and Wayne Gretzky (1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1987) as the only players who've won it at least four times.

The Canadian superstar paced all skaters in points for the second straight campaign after putting up a career-high 123 in 80 regular-season games. He factored in on 43.16% of the Oilers' total goals in 2021-22.

Matthews, who received his first Ted Lindsay nomination in 2020-21, won his second consecutive Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy after leading the league with 60 goals. His campaign also featured a run in which he scored 50 in a 50-game span.

The sniper put home 19.23% of the Maple Leafs' total goals in 2021-22, and he also paced the NHL with 44 even-strength goals as well as 348 shots on goal. Matthews topped all skaters with 31.8 goals above replacement and 5.6 wins above replacement this season, according to Evolving Hockey.

Josi, a first-time Ted Lindsay finalist, is also in the running for the Norris Trophy as the league's top defenseman. He led all blue-liners with 96 total points, 59 even-strength points, and 11 power-play goals in 80 games.

If the Swiss veteran wins, he'll become the first defenseman to win the Ted Lindsay since Bobby Orr in 1975. He's just the third rearguard in 22 years to be voted a finalist and the first in Predators history.

Similar to the Hart Trophy, the Ted Lindsay Award is given out annually to the "most outstanding player." However, it's voted on by members of the NHL Players' Association rather than the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

Matthews and McDavid were announced as Hart Trophy finalists Thursday. McDavid, who's the reigning winner, is one of 14 players who've won the Hart and Ted Lindsay in the same season.

McDavid, Matthews, Josi voted Ted Lindsay Award finalists
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox