Bergeron wins Mark Messier leadership award

Elsa / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Boston Bruins star forward Patrice Bergeron has been named the 2020-21 winner of the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, the league announced Wednesday.

The award is given annually to "the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team on and off the ice during the regular season, and who plays a leading role in his community growing the game of hockey." The winner is selected by Messier himself.

Bergeron succeeded Zdeno Chara as the 20th captain in Bruins history before the campaign after the latter signed with the Washington Capitals in the offseason. Bergeron ranked second on the team in both goals (23) and points (48) in 54 games this year.

"It's a huge honor," Bergeron said of his win, according to Sportsnet. "Obviously, there's more than just Xs and Os and playing the game of hockey; it's about the community and what impact you can bring to people - obviously, to your team and beyond that - to grow the game of hockey."

The 35-year-old is the 15th winner of the award after Calgary Flames captain Mark Giordano was named last year's recipient. Bergeron has spent his entire 17-year career with Boston and is a four-time winner of the Frank J. Selke Trophy, earning top defensive forward honors in 2012, 2014, 2015, and 2017.

Bergeron wins Mark Messier leadership award
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox