Predicting Stanley Cup and division winners
Scott Audette / National Hockey League / Getty

Heading into the 2019-20 regular season, theScore's Mike Dickson, Josh Gold-Smith, John Matisz, Sean O'Leary, Matt Teague, and Josh Wegman make their picks for division winners, and the Stanley Cup Final.

Atlantic Division

Scott Audette / Getty Images
Editor Pick
Dickson Lightning
Gold-Smith Lightning
Matisz Lightning
O'Leary Lightning
Teague Lightning
Wegman Lightning

A sweep at the hands of the Columbus Blue Jackets in the opening round of the 2019 playoffs doesn't change the fact that the Tampa Bay Lightning remain the class of the Atlantic. The division's theirs to lose, and we don't think they're losing.

Metropolitan Division

Patrick McDermott / National Hockey League / Getty
Editor Pick
Dickson Devils
Gold-Smith Capitals
Matisz Capitals
O'Leary Hurricanes
Teague Capitals
Wegman Hurricanes

The Washington Capitals are looking to make it five straight division titles, but we're anticipating some heavy competition for the Metro crown. A Hurricanes division victory would be Carolina's first since 2006, when it played in what was then the Southeast Division.

Central Division

John Russell / National Hockey League / Getty
Editor Pick
Dickson Avalanche
Gold-Smith Predators
Matisz Stars
O'Leary Predators
Teague Predators
Wegman Predators

The Nashville Predators remain the division favorites, and it's important to note that there's little Central love for the defending Stanley Cup champion St. Louis Blues.

Pacific Division

Dave Sandford / National Hockey League / Getty
Editor Pick
Dickson Sharks
Gold-Smith Flames
Matisz Golden Knights
O'Leary Golden Knights
Teague Sharks
Wegman Golden Knights

The Vegas Golden Knights slipped to third in the Pacific after their dream rookie season, but we're bullish on a rebound in 2019-20.

Stanley Cup Final

Icon Sportswire / Icon Sportswire / Getty
Editor Pick
Dickson Predators over Capitals
Gold-Smith Lightning over Predators
Matisz Lightning over Stars
O'Leary Golden Knights over Lightning
Teague Lightning over Predators
Wegman Lightning over Avalanche

We have Jon Cooper's Lightning headed back to the Stanley Cup Final in 2020 (for the most part), and believe that the club has learned all of its requisite lessons from losing. It's Tampa Bay's time.

Predicting Stanley Cup and division winners
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox