Manning, Megatron among 25 Pro Football HOF semifinalists
Thomas Campbell-USA TODAY Sports / Reuters

Peyton Manning, Calvin Johnson, Charles Woodson, and Jared Allen are semifinalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame induction in their first year of eligibility.

The Hall revealed all 25 former players still up for enshrinement in 2021 on Tuesday following its latest round of cuts. The list, which began with 130 modern-era nominees, will next be trimmed to 15 finalists.

Eric Allen, Willie Anderson, Cornelius Bennett, and Rodney Harrison were named semifinalists for the first time after previously failing to reach the top 25.

Pro Football Hall of Fame semifinalists

  • Eric Allen, CB
  • Jared Allen, DE
  • Willie Anderson, OT
  • Ronde Barber, CB
  • Cornelius Bennett, LB
  • Tony Boselli, OT*
  • LeRoy Butler, S*
  • Alan Faneca, G*
  • Rodney Harrison, S
  • Torry Holt, WR*
  • Calvin Johnson, WR
  • John Lynch, S*
  • Peyton Manning, QB
  • Clay Matthews, LB
  • Sam Mills, LB*
  • Richard Seymour, DE*
  • Steve Tasker, ST/WR
  • Fred Taylor, RB
  • Zach Thomas, LB*
  • Hines Ward, WR
  • Reggie Wayne, WR*
  • Patrick Willis, LB
  • Charles Woodson, CB/S
  • Darren Woodson, S
  • Bryant Young, DT*

*Finalist in 2020

Manning, who is widely considered a lock to get in on the first ballot, will have a chance to go in with former Indianapolis Colts teammate Reggie Wayne. Wayne, who has the 10th-most receiving yards in NFL history, is in his second year of eligibility.

The 2021 class of inductees will be announced before Super Bowl LV in February. The class is scheduled to officially enter the Hall in Canton, Ohio, on Sunday, Aug. 8, 2021.

Manning, Megatron among 25 Pro Football HOF semifinalists
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox