Iginla, Hossa lead 2020 Hockey Hall of Fame class

Jonathan Daniel / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Jarome Iginla, Marian Hossa, Ken Holland, Kevin Lowe, Kim St-Pierre, and Doug Wilson have been selected as the 2020 Hockey Hall of Fame class, the Hall announced Wednesday.

Iginla and Hossa were both elected in their first year of eligibility.

Holland will be the lone inductee in the builder category.

Iginla authored a brilliant 20-year career, 16 seasons of which he spent as the heart-and-soul leader of the Calgary Flames. The 42-year-old racked up 625 goals and 1,300 points in 1,554 career contests, helping the Flames reach Game 7 of the Stanley Cup Final in 2004.

Like Iginla, Hossa was also one of the best wingers of his era. The 41-year-old was a key contributor on three championship teams with the Chicago Blackhawks, where he spent eight of his 19 campaigns. Hossa notched 525 goals and 1,134 points in 1,309 games.

Holland, the current Edmonton Oilers general manger, spent 36 years with the Detroit Red Wings, including 22 as GM. He was the architect of four Stanley Cup championship squads over that span (three as the GM), and built the club into a perennial powerhouse that made the playoffs a whopping 25 straight times from 1991 to 2016.

Lowe, a current Oilers alternate governor, will be inducted as a player. The former defenseman was an important part of Edmonton's dynasty in the 1980s and early 1990s, helping the team win the Cup five times before capturing another title with the New York Rangers in 1994.

St-Pierre will be the only female inductee in this year's class. The former goaltender starred for Canada on the international stage, guiding the nation to three Olympic gold medals and five IIHF World Championship crowns.

Wilson, the current San Jose Sharks GM, was inducted as a player. He won the Norris Trophy as the NHL's top blue-liner in 1982, and was nominated for the award five times. Wilson played 14 of his 16 seasons with the Blackhawks, registering 827 points in 1,024 contests.

The induction ceremony is tentatively scheduled for Nov. 16 in Toronto. However, due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the Hall isn't currently accepting ticket orders for the 2020 event.

Iginla, Hossa lead 2020 Hockey Hall of Fame class
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox