Predicting major NHL award winners

Dilip Vishwanat / National Hockey League / Getty

Heading into the 2019-20 regular season, theScore's Mike Dickson, Josh Gold-Smith, John Matisz, Sean O'Leary, Matt Teague, and Josh Wegman make their picks for all major year-end NHL award recipients.

Calder Trophy

Bruce Bennett / Getty Images Sport / Getty
Editor Pick
Dickson Jack Hughes
Gold-Smith Kaapo Kakko
Matisz Cale Makar
O'Leary Kaapo Kakko
Teague Jack Hughes
Wegman Cale Makar

We're torn between freshmen Hughes, Kakko, and Makar. The bottom line: A stellar crop of rookies will make things interesting this season, especially in the Metropolitan Division.

Jack Adams Award

Andy Marlin / National Hockey League / Getty
Editor Pick
Dickson John Hynes
Gold-Smith Joel Quenneville
Matisz Joel Quenneville
O'Leary John Hynes
Teague John Hynes
Wegman Rick Tocchet

John Hynes enters his fifth season as head coach of the New Jersey Devils with a 141-146-41 record. But we believe he's going to say goodbye to a career sub-.500 record for good once 2019-20 is complete.

Selke Trophy

Icon Sportswire / Icon Sportswire / Getty
Editor Pick
Dickson Patrice Bergeron
Gold-Smith Aleksander Barkov
Matisz Aleksander Barkov
O'Leary Mark Stone
Teague Sean Couturier
Wegman Aleksander Barkov

Aleksander Barkov earned 23.5% of the Selke vote last season, and that number is going to rise. Only 23 years old and with a Lady Byng and fifth-, fourth-, and sixth-place Selke finishes already to his name, Barkov could go on a Patrice Bergeron-esque run with this award and cement himself as the NHL's best defensive forward.

Norris Trophy

Kavin Mistry / National Hockey League / Getty
Editor Pick
Dickson Seth Jones
Gold-Smith Erik Karlsson
Matisz Seth Jones
O'Leary Erik Karlsson
Teague Victor Hedman
Wegman Erik Karlsson

If you forgot how good Erik Karlsson is because he played only 53 games last season out west, you're about to be reminded. Another Norris Trophy will give him three, and will put the 29-year-old in a tie with Hall of Famers Chris Chelios, Paul Coffey, Pierre Pilote, and Denis Potvin.

Vezina Trophy

Jamie Sabau / National Hockey League / Getty
Editor Pick
Dickson Sergei Bobrovsky
Gold-Smith Andrei Vasilevskiy
Matisz Carey Price
O'Leary Andrei Vasilevskiy
Teague Ben Bishop
Wegman Andrei Vasilevskiy

It'll be two straight for Andrei Vasilevskiy, who will make everyone forget about Tampa stunningly being swept in the 2019 playoffs.

Hart Trophy

Michael Martin / National Hockey League / Getty
Editor Pick
Dickson Connor McDavid
Gold-Smith Nikita Kucherov
Matisz Nathan MacKinnon
O'Leary Nathan MacKinnon
Teague Nathan MacKinnon
Wegman Auston Matthews

Nathan MacKinnon was the Avalanche's first overall pick in 2013, and we have him winning his first Hart Trophy at 24 years old. His prime years will be something else.

Predicting major NHL award winners
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox